EY announces arrival of head of legal consulting Maurus Schreyvogel WE – the second big Norvartis hire in under a year

EY has today (1 September) formally announced the arrival of Maurus Schreyvogel as its head of legal function consulting for the entire Western Europe region. Schreyvogel was more recently chief legal innovation officer at Novartis.

Commenting on the arrival, Christian Bosse, EY Law’s managing partner for Western Europe said: “I am delighted that with Maurus Schreyvogel we have been able to attract a highly experienced in-house lawyer, who combines legal expertise with relevant experience in the transformation of legal departments. We are thus investing further in the expansion of a forward-looking service at European level as well. More to come!”

Schreyvogel started out in the corporate IP department at Novartis in 2004, and by 2015 had become chief of staff to the group general counsel. He is recognised in the 2018 Legal 500 GC Powerlist, which in addition to providing a more information about his early career, says: “As a member of the group legal leadership team, he has established an expert team that provides support to Novartis’ lead lawyers that run large structuring matters, vendor management, usage of technology and other project management aspects. Besides working within the Novartis environment he is actively contributing to the Corporate Legal Operations Consortium (CLOC) where he acts as region head for DACH (Germany, Austria, Switzerland). He also chairs closed-door groups with legal operations topics both in Switzerland and the US. He also contributes to the operationalising innovation initiative of the centre on the legal profession of the Harvard Law School.”

Schreyvogel’s hire follows that of Santosh Singh, formerly head of legal and compliance solutions at Novartis. Singh joined EY in October 2021 as its global legal managed services delivery leader, a newly-created role in which he is responsible for expanding EY’s legal managed services capability, overseeing teams across seven countries.